[rev_slider alias="prestwick"]

Birth Place of the Open Championship, Prestwick Golf Club was founded in 1851 and held the first Open Championship in 1860 on their twelve-hole course, laid out by Old Tom Morris, the Club’s first Keeper of the Green. The first 12 Opens were played at Prestwick, with 15 of Prestwick's 24 Opens played on their 12-hole layout. In 1870 Old Tom’s son, Young Tom won the Belt for the third year in succession and under the rules was allowed to keep the Belt. In 1872, Prestwick, the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews and the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers agreed to buy a new trophy to be awarded to the winner of the Open. This was called the Golf Champion Trophy, or the Claret Jug as it is better known to-day. In 1882 the Prestwick course was extended to 18 holes with four of the original holes remaining to this day. Prestwick hosted its final Open Championship in 1925, but still plays host to the Amateur Championship, which has been held at Prestwick on eleven occasions, the last being in 2001. Although no longer on the Open Championship Rota, golfers still flock from around the world to play this unique, challenging and historic links.

If you would like to know more about this course, please get in touch.

Back to coursesContact Us